Block 7!

HANGING IN THERE! I’m starting block 7 of 8! 12 more weeks until graduation!

So my last block was general pediatrics. I got my butt handed to me and I am so burned out. So many new disease states and different levels of management for these little kiddos. I had babies from 10 days old to older patients of 21 years old that didn’t move to the adult ward. I learned a lot throughout this rotation on diseases more specific for pediatrics. I’ve been going in to work 30 mins early and leaving late just to get through all my patients in the morning for rounds with the team. The commute is probably what drives me nuts. I leave my house at 6:20AM to catch a 6:37 bus, to get to work at 7:15, and supposed to start at 8AM, but I start working at 7:30. And it’s an hour to get home as well. So while at work, I’m chugging coffee like there’s no tomorrow. I rarely have time for lunch and skip it on most days. I come home exhausted and have to study and work on projects and presentations. I’ve been sleeping 4-6 hours per night for weeks or a month now. Then rinse and repeat for 6 weeks.

So for this next one, I’m doing the exact same thing but I’m at both the pediatrics ICU rotation and the neonatal ICU rotation. My classmate was just in it and she looked absolutely miserable. I anticipate feeling the same way but I asked her for some tips so I am 10% ahead of the curve lol.

All in all, I’m going through these rotations and this is my 4th inpatient rotation in a row now. I feel extremely miserable and hating my life. Part of it is the commute. At least 2 hours of my day is wasted getting from one place to the next when I could sleep more or get more stuff done. I’ve also just stopped going to the gym and taking these last few months off. I’m fat as duck and hating myself for it. I’ve been having these long tension type headaches that won’t go away, I’ve been feeling like an insomniac, I’m developing more problems in my life without exercise. I feel more lethargic, my bowels haven’t been regular, my eyes are going blurry, I have canker sores all over, and my teeth are staining from coffee.

Legit working my butt off for months of overtime without a break. And here I am about to go into a difficult ICU rotation… I’m so burned out. But 6 more weeks and a big bye bye to the inpatient setting. CIAO! One of my professors said, “you don’t have to be crazy to work in a hospital, but it certainly helps.” And if you can’t beat ’em, join ’em. Let’s get crazy and finish strong! Then I’ll go back to the gym and get the therapy I so need.

About stanlee255

Future pharmacist, spending most of my time studying. I love fitness. I play some basketball. I do some dancing too. :)

One response to “Block 7!”

  1. hibubblesss says :

    Omg why are you doing so many intense inpt rotations if you’re not gonna go into inpt? You cray. Also dislike peds lol. Good luck on your last rotation! Home stretch (:

Leave a Reply

