Where do you see yourself in 5 years?

Last year of pharmacy school. On rotations currently and it’s kicking my butt. Yesterday, we had a seminar with all of my classmates. It was nice to see everyone again. The topic was on residency and what our goals are.

A question that came up several times was: where do you see yourself 5 years from now? Or 10 years from now?

I honestly haven’t given it much thought after P2 year. I’ve been so emerged into my studies (or stuff that I shouldn’t be sucked into) that I’ve lost track of what I’m trying to achieve. Basically in the next year I want to graduate and get a job. I don’t see myself doing a residency because I know I want to be a community pharmacist. Being at my last rotation, the job is very straightforward. Currently I am killing my brain learning all this stuff. It’s great and it is helping me be a better pharmacist. But to do journal clubs, drug monographs, case presentations, and multiple projects daily would be a nightmare.

Five years from now I’ll be 30. I can’t tell you what my plan is because I really don’t know. I have no significant other nor do I feel the need to look for one. I take good care of my health, I enjoy my hobbies, and I go to work. It’s a simple life and every day I am working towards improving myself. Ideally I’d like to have a significant other, settle down, start a family, and keep on training. But how do I find that person to start a family with? There isn’t a Start-A-Family-Club where you go in and pick somebody to start a family with. I think a huge reason I’ve stopped trying to find anyone special is because my heart is tired. I look at women now and think that she’s not the one. The last person I thought seemed to match perfectly but she isn’t the one either.

So I’m not sure where to go from here. All I can do is continuously work on myself and work on being happy with who I am. Recently I’ve been feeling super lethargic, my muscles ache, and I’m feeling stressed and hypertensive as well. I’m also losing hair especially after a shower. I just get more loose hair strands than usual. I’ve taken the PHQ-9 depression scale because I’m at work and we give those to patients too if they seem depressed and apparently I’m like severely depressed LOL. You could say that these are all symptoms of your last year of pharmacy school where things are getting hectic and you’re just ready to be done.

Maybe I’m in a funk and just need to chill out and see where life takes me. Maybe not having a plan for now is the best choice for me? The world is my oyster and I should be capable of doing anything. Heck, maybe I’ll take a vacation for 1 and just travel.

About stanlee255

Future pharmacist, spending most of my time studying. I love fitness. I play some basketball. I do some dancing too. :)

One response to “Where do you see yourself in 5 years?”

  1. Lillian says :

    A lot can happen in 5 years!! Keep your head up and just continue doing what you’re doing – trying to improve yourself. Focus on your peace of mind, body, and career. You can’t be happy with another until you’re happy with yourself! Good luck 🙂

Leave a Reply

