Sprummer 2015

2015-05-25 16.58.11

SP15-02

I didn’t take any pictures because my phone was dead and I didn’t bother charging it because no wifi/service. But I should’ve taken pics!! Anyways, drawing credit goes to my friend HH. She’s known me for awhile and props to her super clever idea of combining the most 2 biggest things in my life. DBZ and Pharmacy!

Sprummer is a retreat by the EPIC Movement which is an Asian American Christian community. There was close to 180 people located at Camp Tapawingo just a ways out of OSU. It’s a forest area with cabins and lots of trees, gravel, fields, and a creek. There was no wifi or even service and it was from Friday night til Monday afternoon. 4 days of no sleep and being caffeinated all Memorial weekend.

Let’s start off with why I went. Several big reasons.

  1. Because I have been feeling such a huge disconnect with my faith. It’s partly because I don’t go to church anymore ever since I left OSU.
  2. I want to work on being in that social environment. I’m so awkward with people and I never know what to say.
  3. I want to see my OSU friends.
  4. Family is going – my cousins Chris, Winnie, Vicki
  5. Because years from now, the only thing that matters is the memories I make. Staying at home, playing games and studying is relaxing but it doesn’t create memories. Of course, there are times where you have to pick and choose your battles because I am struggling like crazy in school right now.

The theme this year was “Captivated” and it was inspiring to hear other people’s stories on how God has changed their lives. I’ve met tons of new people and connected with some old ones. I am still super shy and just awkward at times. There was one girl that I helped move her stuff and she brought that up and I legit didn’t know how to respond. “Yea! That was fun!” Averts eye contact. Hahaha, I make terrible first impressions and 2nd and 3rd LOL. But ask my roommate sitting next to me, we share the same room and most of the time he’s just trying to tell me to shut up cuz my talks are way too deep.

The night before the last, there was a huge bonfire at the campsite and we sat around it and on the steps and sang worship. Afterwards, we opened up the floor for people to share testimonies or how God has influenced them this weekend or recently. Well, this one girl in particular I resonated with. She’s from OSU and she had been absent from EPIC a lot more and just felt a huge disconnect in her faith. Forgot the story but everything’s good now. And I just can’t help but still feel a disconnect in myself.

I came back from the trip feeling more lost than ever. It’s been 6 days since I last lifted. My diet has been out of place for weeks and I have absolutely no idea what to do or how to train. I’m still doing sinful things and I’m still swearing. My roommate swears constantly and so that doesn’t help. I don’t go to church and I’m not surrounded with my Christian friends. Also I’m doing terrible in school. I have straight C’s, most of them are borderline B’s. But I heard they can hold you back for straight C’s because I’m not competent enough. I have an A in Pediatrics but it’s a pass/no pass class.

Ugh, I am really struggling in life. But I guess that’s the beauty of it right? If I’m not where I want to be, I should work harder to get to where I want to be… If that makes any sense. To all the people lost in the world, keep working hard and stay focused. Also, get a map! Huehuehue.

Tags: , , , ,

About stanlee255

Future pharmacist, spending most of my time studying. I love fitness. I play some basketball. I do some dancing too. :)

2 responses to “Sprummer 2015”

  1. hibubblesss says :

    Hmm, yea plz try to do better in classes. Remember you’re gonna be working with patients really soon and you wanna know your shit so nothing bad happens to them. Maybe take a day to get your mind back on track. Exercise, start eating healthier, sit down at your desk and study. One step at a time (:

  2. Lillian says :

    I go to Hillsong church pretty much every week and always record the sermons because I have so many friends who love hearing Hillsong sermons! If you’d like I can start sending them to you too if you’d like! 🙂 I love sharing them with others!

Leave a Reply

