Centenarian, how to live a long life.

These are people who live over 100+ years old. I always wondered what it would be like to live a long life or possibly live forever like wolverine. The capacity to heal and regenerate. For a long and successful life, not only does our body need to withstand time but our minds need to be kept sane. At some point in your life, you’ll wonder if it’s worth continuing to live on and you’ll wake up every day wondering what you’re living for.

Unfortunately I am in this depressed phase where I’m just constantly getting screwed over by school and by friends. The stress I face is way beyond anything I’ve ever felt and there comes a time when you just stop caring. It’s a chronic level of stress and I’m just so beat.

The reason I’m bringing this topic up is because we got a geriatrics lecture and I thought these centenarians are really cool and I really wish I could be more like that. These are also called blue zone features because when studying them, the people living over 100+ appeared blue and these areas were studied and called “blue zones.” Here are “blue zone” features that they express to help them live a long life:

1. Move naturally
2. Cut calories
3. Avoid meat and processed foods
4. Drink alcohol, especially red wine, in moderation
5. Maintain a positive outlook on life
6. Reduce stress
7. Belong to a community
8. Keep family first
9. Surround yourself with people who have similar blue zone values

I move around naturally a lot and like to be physically active. I keep a good level of fitness and muscle so I hope to not be frail when I become old age. For my bulks, I will stay at a slight caloric surplus so I’m not stuffing myself all the time. I can’t avoid meats, the protein is important. I don’t drink but they recommend 1-2 glasses is okay.

Now these last few ones are what keeps you mentally sane. I used to maintain a positive outlook on life. I was so high on it and I could not be any happier. This was when I had someone to share my life with. Even without, I was only content because I surrounded myself with friends. But now that I’m stuck in grad school, I haven’t been able to hang out or see friends for so long. I checked my phone logs and I’ve only talked with 2 people in like the past month, one of them being my mom. I get like a couple texts a week. I try to put myself into a community, but why do I feel like I don’t fit in. I wish I could surround myself with people that have these values but maybe I don’t fit in. I used to be naive with the world, thought only the good of it, crazy in love, didn’t have a care in the world and was in my own world. Now it’s all about the daily grind.

My friend texted me last night saying she’ll workout with me after class. I planned to workout before class and study for my Top 200 drug competition that was in the afternoon. I get to class and she tells me she can’t go… Then she asked if I wanted to go after my competition. Afraid that she would probably cancel again, I told her I will just go after class. Afterwards, I went to my competition, it was jeopardy style and I got every question wrong. The girl I used to like was sitting in the back watching and she admired my intelligence. Now I just look dumb as heck. 😦

My friends went to see Spiderman 2 last night without me as well. They went to see Captain America 2 without me the last time too. Sooooo, somebody get me new friends!

Every day I strive to be someone with high morals and values, but that’s not me. It used to be me. When I was getting straight A’s, when I focused solely on school and had a person I could lean on at the time. Now I’m on my own and I’m tripping everywhere. Start swearing more, grades declining, depression has set in, passion has left, and I’m left wondering what am I doing with my life. I think when my grades are just so terrible, I find it hard to console others. I used to be that top 1%, but now I’m struggling to pass a test with a 70%. WHAT HAPPENED. This is not the life I want to live. I will try to set goals and be more like these “blue zone” people.

Tags: , ,

About stanlee255

Future pharmacist, spending most of my time studying. I love fitness. I play some basketball. I do some dancing too. :)

Leave a Reply

