Spring Cutting

Spring Break flew by and been on the grind with school for the past 2 weeks. Winter term was rough and I was hanging on by a string each day trying to make it through the term. Diet was off and gym came out to be like 1-2 times a week. Now I’m on a cut and trying to get more shredded for summer. I’m 150 lbs at 5’5 and I’m hoping to lose about 8 lbs or so at about half a pound a week. I’ve gone back to tracking my calories and macros and trying to hit slightly below maintenance. I’m surprised that most of my lifts are still close to my PR’s. I can still deadlift 2 plates but my squats have dropped to 205. I hit my PR again for bench for 175 on a 5×5 and without a spotter but my rest times were a bit longer.

School’s been tough and our first exam was on Week 2! That was the earliest I’ve ever taken a test and it was no easy test. The module was on cancer biology and chemotherapeutics. Our next exam is later this week and we have exams every week until finals. It’s a tough term and I’m not sure how often I can keep up with the gym. Pretty soon my stress level is going to shoot through the roof and every day will just be a day that I need to survive. Going straight into grad school after undergrad… UGH.

I also miss a lot of my undergrad years as I had just gone to the VSA culture show. I got to talk to a lot of my friends there, undergrads and alumni’s. I can’t believe it’s my last term after being here for 6 years. Took me longer than half of my undergrad to realize my potential. But once I did, I put so much time into student involvement and I really miss being a part of that. Helping with different committees, building relationships with everyone and organizing these events. Now it’s all about studying and worrying if I’ll PASS this next exam… And that’s coming from a guy graduating with a 3.85 GPA. Once I got into grad school, the road’s been tough. I know everyone says to enjoy the journey, but I so wish I am at the end where I have a job so I can work and lift every day. I will miss being in a campus environment, but I know I will have great times back at home and hang out with family or meet new people at the gym. I need to start living and not just existing.

Anyways, here’s to hopefully a good cut!

Tags: , , , ,

About stanlee255

Future pharmacist, spending most of my time studying. I love fitness. I play some basketball. I do some dancing too. :)

Leave a Reply

